User Modes

What are User Modes

CTFd has two kinds of “user modes”, User Mode and Team Mode. User modes dictate how players register for the competition and how they’re scored.

Team Mode

If you set your CTF to Team Mode, a captain should register a team. Their teammates will then be able to join the team. Solves and submissions will be attributed to the user and associated with the overall team.

Under team mode everyone should register an account. Then one person from each team (the captain) should register a team account and share the team name and password with their fellow teammates. The other members should then join in under that team account using those credentials.

Individuals can play on their own in Team Mode but they still need to register a team.

User Mode

Under User mode, CTFd will let the user play on their own. Multiple people can also share the same account to play together but solves and submissions will all be attributed to the same account.

Changing User Modes

Users mode is set when a CTFd instance is first setup. Changing it however requires you to reset your CTFd instance from the Admin Panel.